Supersite 3.0 HELP TOPIC: Add Course Step 2 - Content

Follow

Adding a course is simplified by way of a step-by-step wizard that guides you through the creation process. After you create your first course, you can copy its settings to build other courses.

  • Course (Step 1): In this step, you will name your course, identify the school at which the course will be taught, and set the start and end dates for the course.
  • Content (Step 2): Set the range of coverage for your course, indicate what level of Supersite access you expect students to have for your course, and select appropriate student learning supports for video viewing.
  • Gradebook (Step 3): Your choices in this step will determine the layout and grade calculations within your course gradebook. You’ll begin with your course’s grading policy and create weighted categories for each portion of the grading policy. You’ll finish by customizing the settings for each category including defining its organization within the gradebook and setting the number of allowable attempts, lateness penalties, strictness settings, and the grading method (credit vs. graded) for assignments.
  • Summary (Step 4): Review the summary of information regarding your new course, make adjustments before finalizing the course setup, and print or download a summary for your records.

 

Content (Step 2)

1. The “Copy lesson range from…” drop-down is preset to the last course you created or to the course selected in step 1 of the wizard. You may change the selection to another course by clicking on the drop-down menu and making a new selection.

2. Set the lesson coverage for your course by selecting a First lesson and Last lesson from the drop-down menus. Note: Students may access other lessons if they wish.

3. Select the Supersite access level that students are expected to have for the course. Note: The options are Supersite or Supersite Plus (some books also allow you to select WebSAM, eCuaderno, and/or vText).

4. Select the student support settings that you wish to apply to video playback.

a. Subtitles

• Spanish: Students can opt to see Spanish subtitles.

• Spanish/English: Students can opt to see Spanish or English subtitles.

• None: Students cannot view subtitles.

 

b. Transcripts:

• Spanish: Students can opt to see Spanish transcripts.

• Spanish/English: Students can opt to see Spanish or English transcripts.

• None: Students cannot view transcripts.

 

c. Allow line translation to English: When checked, students can view translation. Note: The Subtitles, Transcripts and Line Translation to English video support tools have a “see screenshot” link available for previewing purposes.

5. In Technical Support, you can opt to allow students to contact you with questions about their submission scores (fill-in-the-blank questions only) or for general assistance with  assignments. Note: If you don’t enabled this option, students may still report content errors or  technical problems to VHL Tech Support from the “Help” menu.

a. Allow students to submit score reviews?

• Yes: Allow students to contact you to review submission scores.
• No: Disables score review requests (default setting).

b. Allow students to submit help requests?

• Yes: Allow students to contact you for help or to ask a specific question regarding an assignment.
• No: Disables help requests (default setting)

6. In Chat, you can opt to allow students to communicate via the Supersite’s text, audio and video chat features. 

a. Never available: When selected, disables all chat capabilities for students enrolled in your course including Partner Chat activities. Note: Partner Chat activities will not be available for assigning purposes.

b. Only in Partner Chat activities: When selected, enables chat capabilities for students enrolled in your course in Partner Chat activities only (default setting).

c. Always available: When selected, enables all chat capabilities for students enrolled in your course including Partner and Live Chat.

7. Click next to move to the Gradebook step. Note: You may return to the previous step to make changes by clicking the “back” button.